Skip to content

Easter traditions

April 25, 2011
by

Family traditions are what make the holidays special. I have some that I continue from when I was a child – for example at Easter I leave clues for the kids to go find their Easter baskets. That was something I always looked forward to as a child.  Another “tradition” I’ve started more recently is a specific springtime cake I bake every Easter. It’s not complicated or fancy, but this cake is the definition of spring. I had it first at an Easter gathering years ago and I’ve been making it every year since then – now I’m sharing it with you!

What you’ll need:
WHITE cake mix (not yellow because the colors won’t really show)
one package lemon jello mix
one package lime jello mix
large container whipped cream

Mix the cake mix per the directions. Split the mix equally in two different containers. Mix lemon jello mix in one and lime jello mix in the other.

Bake according to the directions on the cake box. Once cooled completely ice with the whipped cream. Refrigerate and enjoy!

This is the easiest cake I’ve ever made and it always gets rave reviews. It’s not rich or too sweet, it’s a very light flavor perfect on a warm spring day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 10:03 pm

    This sounds delicious! I am definitely giving it a try. 🙂

  2. Mormor permalink
    April 29, 2011 5:32 pm

    Me too, Emily!!

Leave a Reply

