Skip to content

A better use for Red No.40, Yellow No.5, and Blue No.1

May 2, 2011
by

Plays silks have to be my favorite toy right now. They’re so beautiful, and they inspire so much open-ended play time.

We recently went to a birthday party for a very special one-year-old friend, and what better gift to make for her?

You can purchase colored play silks, but it’s much less expensive to buy them white and dye them yourself. We use Kool Aid and a microwave. I’m not a huge fan of food dyes, but they do make beautiful colors!

While I was taking pictures of her play silks, my own one-year-old wandered over and started playing.

You can find directions for dying playsilks here. Have fun!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 3:17 pm

    Kool-aid!!! what a fantstic idea!!! I love it! I know my little ones would love some play silks. Where did you get them?
    **I have not seen a picture of her lately- She looks exactly like you! What a doll!!!!

  2. Mormor permalink
    May 2, 2011 5:35 pm

    I agree with Jessica– especially the belly!! ( you looked like that at her age). WHERE did that light hair come from????!!!!???

  3. May 3, 2011 12:47 pm

    Oh my goodness, that belly looks scrumptious! Where did you buy the plain white silks? I think Lucas (and my girls too for that matter) would love to try this!

    • May 3, 2011 2:12 pm

      Emily and Jessica, I bought the scarves online. I found the link in the tutorial that I linked to. Let me know if you can’t find it. I’ve heard of people nabbing silk scarves at yard sales, but I never have that kind of luck. 🙂

      I love the belly in these pics too!

Leave a Reply

