Skip to content

“Bendy” Buildings and Butterflies

May 15, 2011
by

Once a week or so, I get a “day off”, meaning I only care for my own kids. This day is precious to me, and I find myself dreaming about all I can accomplish.

But then I hear a little voice saying, “Mommy, who will play with me?”

I’ve recently learned what a joy it is to set aside my own plans for the morning to play with a four-year-old who was begging for some company.

Last week we curled up on the couch together and read a library book called And Then it Rained. After reading the book he noticed that the pictures had “bendy buildings”, so of course we had to draw a bendy building picture.

His buildings were much bendier than mine. Did mommy get into it? Well, maybe just a little. 🙂

He added rain and clouds, and I was all set to get the water paints out, but then he was inspired by the scissors on the table to draw butterflies and cut them out. So that’s what we did!

They're flying too fast to get a good look at them, but they turned out REALLY good!

He’s been practicing a lot with scissors, and he’s getting pretty good at it.

I could have made my own lesson plans for the morning, but it was so much fun to watch him make his own. I would have written something like “making connections between literature and his own life” and “observing and recording the natural world”. He would have just said “I had fun”. I think he’s better at it than me. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. greendoorproject permalink
    May 16, 2011 12:12 pm

    You always inspire me, friend. 🙂 I will have to check out that book too and draw some “bendy, buildings” with my little ones the first rainy day of summer.

  2. greendoorproject permalink
    May 16, 2011 12:12 pm

    Ha! This is Emily, not Rachel, my sis-in-law. She was still signed in on my computer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

