Skip to content

Adjusting to a new schedule

June 15, 2011
by

Wow, I can’t believe how long it’s been since my last post! When I logged on this afternoon I was surprised to see that a handful of people have still been viewing our blog. Thank you to those who have visited even when we’ve been absent!

We’ve had a crazy few weeks around here. My husband started a new job just days before school let out, and we’re still adjusting to the new schedule. We’re thankful for the job, and I’m loving more time with my sweet 7-year-old. My schedule is constantly flexing and changing with different seasons, but this time it’s taking me a little longer to find my rhythm.

Thankfully, I now have my own personal activities director at home:

I’m not naturally and organized person, but I hate the feeling of flitting around with no direction, more tired from the things not accomplished than from what I’ve done. And even more sad are the days when I hardly speak to my children except in frustration. That’s why I’m constantly reading books, articles, and blogs on organization and homemaking. My goal is to work smarter so I have more time for pretending, drawing, blowing bubbles, and savoring the time I have with my kids. And in the mean time I’m trying to guard my own rest and personal growth.

Though I’ve been neglecting my own blog I’ve really been enjoying reading others. One I’ve recently stumbled upon has really encouraged me lately. Jamie at Steady Mom has so much wisdom to share, and I’ve been eating it up! I’m feeling inspired by her once-a-month cleaning schedule. Maybe I’ll try it!

I’d love to hear what helps you find your daily rhythm…and any reading recommendations you have. Here’s to a great summer!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mormor permalink
    June 16, 2011 3:16 pm

    I’m afraid you got your organizational skills from me!! Love Corban’s writing! Can’t wait until everyone’s here–trying to get activities together now….

Leave a Reply

